Licensure Applicant Training

UPDATE - May 31, 2019
Under current law, the moratorium on home care licenses for in-home aide services is set to expire on June 30, 2019.   While the General Assembly is currently debating whether to extend the moratorium beyond that date, the Association for Home and Hospice Care wanted to make available training for individuals interested in applying for a new license in the event the moratorium expires . We provide continual trainings when there is a moratorium in place as well, since the services affected by the moratorium are only In-home aide services, and because a change of ownership is not affected by the moratorium.
We are holding Licensure Applicant Training classes on the following dates here at the AHHC office in Raleigh to help new applicants prepare for the potential expiration of the June 30th moratorium.

(Scroll below for dates and registration information.)

If these classes fill up, we will update the site with more dates. 

About Licensure
Licensure is required for any operating North Carolina Home Care Agency and is issued by the North Carolina Division of Health Service Regulation. To understand the licensure process, please read the information posted at each link below.

DHSR Licensure Information - Establishing a Home Care Agency
DHSR Home Care and Hospice Licensure Survey Checklist 

Licensure Applicant classes taught by the Association for Home & Hospice Care of NC offer nurse contact hours for nurses attending the entire class. The Association for Home & Hospice Care of NC is an approved provider of continuing nursing education by the North Carolina Nurse's Association, an accredited approver by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.

Association Membership

It is important for agencies to become members of their state Association to receive regulatory and legislative updates, as well as education to advance your business, member discounts from trusted vendors, and advocacy at the state and federal levels. AHHC has 47 years of experience in leading and advocating for home care and our experienced staff have more than 200 years of combined expertise. We encourage you to consider joining our Association once your agency has become licensed.

Instructor: Kathie Smith, BSN, RN, Vice President of State Relations, Home & Community Based Care for the Association for Home & Hospice Care of NC

Ms. Smith has extensive experience in Medicare and Medicaid home health compliance and regulatory requirements. Mrs. Smith is certified in integrated chronic disease management, is a master training in Coaching Supervision and serves on the North Carolina management team for the Personal and Home Care Aide State Training (PHCAST) grant which has developed Home Care Specialty training for NC aides. Mrs. Smith served on the NC Better Jobs Better Care partner team that developed the NC New Organizational Vision Award (NC NOVA), a workforce development program for direct care workers. Ms. Smith serves on numerous NC Department of Health and Human Services Regulatory committees and served on the NC Institute of Medicine committee regarding NC's implementation of the Affordable Care Act. Ms. Smith is a frequent state and national speaker on topics related to Home Care Licensing rules, regulations, laws, and payer source policies. Ms. Smith earned her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Barton College.


$625 per agency

  • Covers 2 agency representatives
  • One of the attendees must be the agency owner 

$725 per agency

  • Covers 2 agency representatives
  • PLUS Two 15-min consultative calls
  • One of the attendees must be the agency owner 

$300 per additional representative

Register Online »

Upcoming Dates:
June 26, 2019
July 2, 2019
July 17, 2019
August 21, 2019

Payments must be made online via credit card at the time of registration OR via check mailed in with the registration form below.
Download Registration Form »


SECTION 12G.1.(a)  Section 12G.4(a) of S.L. 2014‑100 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 12G.4.(a)  For the period commencing on the effective date of this section, and ending  June 30, 2019, and notwithstanding the provisions of the Home Care Agency Licensure Act set forth in Part 3 of Article 6 of Chapter 131E of the General Statutes or any rules adopted pursuant to that Part, the Department of Health and Human Services shall not issue any licenses for home care agencies as defined in G.S. 131E‑136(2) that intend to offer in‑home aide services. This prohibition does not apply to companion, sitter, or respite services and shall not restrict the Department from doing any of the following:
(1) Issuing a license to a certified home health agency as defined in G.S. 131E‑176(12) that intends to offer in‑home aide services.
(2) Issuing a license to an agency that needs a new license for an existing home care agency being acquired.
(3) Issuing a license for a new home care agency in any area of the State upon a determination by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services that increased access to care is necessary in that area." 

SECTION 12G.1.(b)  This section is effective when it becomes law.